Help! Something to Talk About

Standard

This whole blogging business makes me happy beyond words.

I can’t even describe it (although you know I’ll spend 500 words trying).  In my opinion there are two types of dancers: those that enjoy discourse about what they do and those that don’t.  Neither one is better than the other – they are just different (don’t you like my diplomacy?). Personally, I cannot fathom NOT discussing dance and art.  Art is endless and fascinating to me and reaches out into so many different disciplines and areas of life (like cooking for toddlers and how to arrange four small children into your backseat in fashion least likely to result in arguments, hair pulling, or similar). But over the years I’ve come to realize that not everyone shares this passion for discussion as I do.  I’ll test you. When we’re backstage at our next performance I’ll launch into some inquiry about the nuance of what we just did and you’ll either perk up excitedly or you’ll fix me with a stare like I’ve just called your grandmother a titty dancing whore.

Some dancers see it as too sacred to talk about, or they simply don’t think about it in a verbal way.  If you think about it this makes total sense.  Dance expresses something beyond words.  So it would follow that dancers are dancers because they feel most comfortable expressing without words. Not the rule, but often the case.

Nevertheless, I like to talk about dance.

But what I DON’T like to talk about is electronics.  And if you start talking to me about them my eyes will glaze over or I will get very fussy and irritated with you not unlike a child sitting next to the wrong person in a car.  Unfortunately this project demands that I talk about them however briefly. So I am asking for your help in directing me (as simply put in plain English as you can) to what I might need in order to do the video portion of this project.

Someone recommended that an iPhone would be simplest because you can upload video directly to youtube or whatever instead of having to connect it to a computer.  For the past two years I have owned a very nice HD camcorder which I have, to date, never uploaded anything from so being able to upload the video directly might be the best option for me.  Also, it would keep me from having to do any of this project at work which would keep my employers much happier.  (All right you got me: I do not own a home computer. Go ahead and laugh at me. Get the laughing bit over. Done? Ok, thank you.) But I’m wondering how long are the videos on these iPhone things? Can you shoot a ten minute video for example? Is there a specific model that would be better for me to use than others? Is there a cost effective option? I have Sprint so would a Droid work just as well for example?

This is where I’m asking for your help: if you know anything about these sorts of things, then please comment or shoot me an email and give me some much needed advice on what I should use.  Thanks readers!

About Holly Shaw

Holly Shaw is a San Francisco Bay Area dancer and choreographer who has performed as a soloist with Yaelisa and Caminos Flamencos off and on for several years. Shaw is the creator of the Eve’s Elixir project, a platform for artists of contemporary world dance wanting to bring new ideas to traditional dance forms, and has produced several shows in San Francisco. Her flow between contemporary modern dance, flamenco and Middle-eastern styles makes her a unique choreographer. Shaw has spent years training Bay Area dancers in technique and improvisation, challenging them to dance from a deeper level and uncover their unique style.

One response »

  1. update! after a torturous morning yesterday of comparing the Motorola Photon with the iPhone 4, I finally went and bought an iPhone 4. It won because it has an application iMovie for editing video and once I discovered that I realized I couldn’t live without it;)

Leave a Reply

