Wedding Gigger – Part II

Standard

When Miriam Peretz asked me to put together a set for a wedding gig I was excited to work with her.  First of all, Miriam is an exquisite mover, accomplished dancer, and assistant director of Ballet Afsaneh.  Secondly, she is a mom and so takes her time seriously in the studio and gets right down to business. I like that. What I discovered was that Miriam also has good ideas and is a real sweetheart to work with.  What resulted were two pieces, The Wedding Rumba (see day 2, Sept 3rd), and today’s Tangos por Dos which ended up being collaborations that we created over the period of *three rehearsals. It’s been years since Miriam has formally taken flamenco lessons, but she knows I’m open minded. So you’ll find the pieces have some nice flair of Middle-Eastern and Central Asian dances.

*One of the discoveries I’m making with this project is that a dance doesn’t take merely a day to make. OK, well I already knew that.  But my initial idea was to create a dance, or whatever movement passed for something, in one day, then abandon it the next and start fresh.  Well, my mind doesn’t seem to want to do this.  I’ve found that I like to keep several wheels spinning at once and at any point in time, I have two or three pieces that I’m in different stages of working on.  The Tangos por Dos, I worked on three different days.  (Sept 7, 8, and 9) Some by myself, and some with Miriam.  What you see here is actually performed/filmed on a whole other additional day.  While I was working on Tangos por Dos, however, I was also working on dances which are going to be posted this next week. I don’t expect you to actually be interested in these details, but for you choreography geeks out there I thought you might be interested in the process. To those folks who would argue that I’m not creating a different dance every day – I would respond that I am in the process of creating 3 or 4 dances every day.  And I finish at least one “dance” every day.

About Holly Shaw

Holly Shaw is a San Francisco Bay Area dancer and choreographer who has performed as a soloist with Yaelisa and Caminos Flamencos off and on for several years. Shaw is the creator of the Eve’s Elixir project, a platform for artists of contemporary world dance wanting to bring new ideas to traditional dance forms, and has produced several shows in San Francisco. Her flow between contemporary modern dance, flamenco and Middle-eastern styles makes her a unique choreographer. Shaw has spent years training Bay Area dancers in technique and improvisation, challenging them to dance from a deeper level and uncover their unique style.

Leave a Reply

