Have Yourself A Sexy Halloween

Standard

Halloween used to be all about being scary, or creative, or trying on new identities but in the last twenty years it seems to have gained considerable momentum as the sluttiest holiday of the year.  What is up with sexy costumes for children?  Have you seen this?  Perhaps I just notice it now that I’m older, but why is the norm for tweenage girls to pretend to be hookers on Halloween? To each his/her own, of course.  I’m not here to prescribe what anyone should do.  There’s been many a halloween that I’ve seized the moment to wear something revealing, but I’m pretty sure I was an adult. Let’s just say I find it deeply disturbing to see young girls dressed as strippers. I dunno, it kind of feels like we are breeding ground for pedophiles here.  Anyhow, in response to my distaste, I decided to make a little piece on this very topic. 

It was really interesting to me that in San Francisco, a very liberal city which hosts multitudes of scantily clad-costume party/street fairs, that people on the street found me extremely disturbing.  Then again I was in the Financial District. Heh.

This is a great article about the “why” girls dress sexy on Halloween:

http://www.rachelsimmons.com/2011/10/lillys-blog-the-real-reason-girls-wear-sexy-costumes-on-halloween/

About Holly Shaw

Holly Shaw is a San Francisco Bay Area dancer and choreographer who has performed as a soloist with Yaelisa and Caminos Flamencos off and on for several years. Shaw is the creator of the Eve’s Elixir project, a platform for artists of contemporary world dance wanting to bring new ideas to traditional dance forms, and has produced several shows in San Francisco. Her flow between contemporary modern dance, flamenco and Middle-eastern styles makes her a unique choreographer. Shaw has spent years training Bay Area dancers in technique and improvisation, challenging them to dance from a deeper level and uncover their unique style.

Leave a Reply

