Open for Business

Standard

Hahahahah! Just kidding!

Really? Raise your hand if you actually thought I was out of ideas for dances.  Ok. See, I knew it.  You didn’t believe it for a second.

Actually I have more ideas than ever.  Now that I’ve really started diving into what interests me, I’m finding more ideas than I can work on at one time.  Of course a lot of my “ideas” are just inquiries or explorations that later may become part of something more developed, but nevertheless am finding the possibilities of what I want to do – endless. I think I’ve always had a lot of ideas.  I think you have a lot of ideas too.  But there is an ignition that happens when you start turning yourself towards them.  That goofy little hop? It feels good huh? Different? Go with that.  This is what I’ve been telling myself lately. Go with that.  There’s always time later on to look at it and say, that is just really not working.  But for now this is the voice in my head:  Make that mistake. Do that goofy thing.  It might just lead you towards something new.

About Holly Shaw

Holly Shaw is a San Francisco Bay Area dancer and choreographer who has performed as a soloist with Yaelisa and Caminos Flamencos off and on for several years. Shaw is the creator of the Eve’s Elixir project, a platform for artists of contemporary world dance wanting to bring new ideas to traditional dance forms, and has produced several shows in San Francisco. Her flow between contemporary modern dance, flamenco and Middle-eastern styles makes her a unique choreographer. Shaw has spent years training Bay Area dancers in technique and improvisation, challenging them to dance from a deeper level and uncover their unique style.

One response »

Leave a Reply

