Powder-Bib Dance

Standard

I went to Tahoe last weekend for vacation! Nanny nanny la la la! (Am I rubbing it in? hell yes! After years of listening to other people speak of their great ski trips to Tahoe, I finally had a fun-filled one of my own so rubbing it in is well deserved!) Of course I had to seize the incredible opportunity to dance in the midst of all that beauty and snow.  Needless to say I was limited by the “snow puffy” effect of my powder bib. After about twenty minutes of hilarious video in which I slid around limbs flying I finally opted to stay seated and this little hand dance happened.

It is interesting to me how the many layers of creation unfold when working with film.  At the time of moving I was just playing with my hands, following my creative impulse and what my body sort of wanted to do.  Later I came across this piece of music from Swelling Meg (I danced with them in the Edinburgh Arts Festival over a decade ago – aren’t they cool?) which gives the piece some nice edge, I think.  Add in the title and this dance begins to actually say something – whether or not I was consciously or unconsciously thinking about it already, I’m not sure.

About Holly Shaw

Holly Shaw is a San Francisco Bay Area dancer and choreographer who has performed as a soloist with Yaelisa and Caminos Flamencos off and on for several years. Shaw is the creator of the Eve’s Elixir project, a platform for artists of contemporary world dance wanting to bring new ideas to traditional dance forms, and has produced several shows in San Francisco. Her flow between contemporary modern dance, flamenco and Middle-eastern styles makes her a unique choreographer. Shaw has spent years training Bay Area dancers in technique and improvisation, challenging them to dance from a deeper level and uncover their unique style.

Leave a Reply

