Clarity and Ambiguity

Standard

Have you ever noticed that sometimes you and the people close to you have similar experiences in clumps?  I’ve been noticing this a lot with my close friends lately.  We’ll all have individual things that happen to each of us which bring clarity and learning of a similar lesson to all of us.  Very recently it was this: Everything decision you make should be either a ‘hell yes’ or a ‘hell no’.  Basically if it isn’t a “Hell Yes!” then the answer should be “Hell No!”*  I know a lot of people tuning into their own emotional guidance, getting clear on what they want and what they don’t want, and living directly from it.  And so as my friend Sasha and I set out to make a bit of art reflecting this, that was our intention.  What I find interesting about this piece is that what we ended up exploring was not clarity, but rather that feeling of ambiguity.  Should I stay or should I go?  As I watched the clips later I see that we were exploring that toxic relationship that makes you second guess yourself and get looped back in.  That makes you tell someone to bugger off, only to turn around and invite them back in.  So I guess the aim is clarity, but there’s always gonna be those experiences that test you.  By the way, I know it would appear that I am kicking Sasha’s butt near the end there, but I assure you that no Sasha’s were harmed during the making of this video!

Holly and Sasha in their more natural happy faces.

*I know I got this “Hell Yes, or Hell No!” idea from something I read, but I cannot remember the source.  If someone knows who it is, then please let me know as I’d like to credit the originator and direct people to that resource if possible.  Thank you!

About Holly Shaw

Holly Shaw is a San Francisco Bay Area dancer and choreographer who has performed as a soloist with Yaelisa and Caminos Flamencos off and on for several years. Shaw is the creator of the Eve’s Elixir project, a platform for artists of contemporary world dance wanting to bring new ideas to traditional dance forms, and has produced several shows in San Francisco. Her flow between contemporary modern dance, flamenco and Middle-eastern styles makes her a unique choreographer. Shaw has spent years training Bay Area dancers in technique and improvisation, challenging them to dance from a deeper level and uncover their unique style.

Leave a Reply

