To Me It Was Dancin’

Standard

Soo you see I haven’t had as much time to myself lately as I would like.  Oh I get to technique class a couple times a week, teach my own classes, you know, but as far as having that mental and real-time physical space to actually create new stuff. . . well, it’s been rough.  I was bound and determined to create something “good” today.  I got up and forced my 4 year old nephew and 9 year old son into the mist soaked woods near our house in order to MAKE SOMETHING HAPPEN when, after an hour of them sword fighting in the living room whilst I tried to dance had driven me almost over the edge.  The video of the woods is still in the editing room.  In fact, it may never come out.  After an hour of trying to make something decent with, of course, awesomely perfect lighting, but ornery children I finally gave up and trudged the kids two miles onward to the park where I fumed on a park bench and they gleefully flung mud on each other and the jungle gym.  Ah, parenthood. Ah auntie-hood.

So, but finally later that night, after watching and laughing at the woods video, Aleister and I got inspired and decided to make an impromptu lip-synch video.  This is what you do when you NEED to dance and you are a mum.  Sometimes this is what it looks like and WELL it isn’t art maybe, but to me – it was dancin’.

About Holly Shaw

Holly Shaw is a San Francisco Bay Area dancer and choreographer who has performed as a soloist with Yaelisa and Caminos Flamencos off and on for several years. Shaw is the creator of the Eve’s Elixir project, a platform for artists of contemporary world dance wanting to bring new ideas to traditional dance forms, and has produced several shows in San Francisco. Her flow between contemporary modern dance, flamenco and Middle-eastern styles makes her a unique choreographer. Shaw has spent years training Bay Area dancers in technique and improvisation, challenging them to dance from a deeper level and uncover their unique style.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

