Five Year Update: I wrote a Book!

Standard

Do you ever get those little memory messages from Facebook? The ones showing you something you posted years ago and asking if you’d like to re-share it?  “We, here at Facebook, care about your memories and thought you might like to share this. . . ” Well, lately I’ve been getting many that pop up from four or five years ago.  There I am, doing my 365 project or just afterwards, smiling, slimmer, making tons of dance, posting creative insights.

I’m feeling like it’s a nudge to reflect. A reminder to pause and realize what I launched five years ago.

Five years ago, September of 2011, I started this little blog project.  . . I thought it’d be neat to make a dance every single day.  To dive into the deep end of my creative mind.  Little did I realize that I would lose my job a year later and launch a business coaching performing artists and creatives.

And little did I know that five years later, I would write a book about my creative research that would make me an Amazon bestselling author!

A lot can be done in one year. You can start and finish projects, you can meet someone and fall in love, you can get injured and recover.  But as I get older a year feels shorter and shorter. Or perhaps it is that the things I desire become larger and tougher to achieve in one year. I’m starting to realize the world in bigger chunks. I’m beginning to recognize that there are also five year arcs of time where ideas are started, launched, and finished.

Ok, hell. Look, I don’t mean to sound all show offy.  Let’s be real. This is the first time I’ve felt the Five Year Arc.  And I think I just made up that term, “Five Year Arc.” But it’s fun to notice.  And I ask myself, how can I let myself develop more slowly over time?  How can I look forward five years and realize bigger and bigger dreams this way?  What have I been putting off because it felt too hard to do in one year?  And most importantly,

Where would I like to be five years from now?

The creative mind doesn’t always like moving in a linear fashion. I’m still not totally convinced I can decide exactly where I want to be and move forward that way.  For me, my dreams of the future are less detail focused and more feeling focused.

I’m not sure exactly what I will be doing, but I do know how I want to feel.

And that I  think I will have written a few more books by then. . .

If you’d like a peek into my fully articulated discoveries, the stories of coaching artists, and basically the gems of the last five years of creative research since launching the 365 dances project, then check out my book here: http://www.performersandcreatorslab.com/thecreativeformulafreeaudiobook

 

About Holly Shaw

Holly Shaw is a San Francisco Bay Area dancer and choreographer who has performed as a soloist with Yaelisa and Caminos Flamencos off and on for several years. Shaw is the creator of the Eve’s Elixir project, a platform for artists of contemporary world dance wanting to bring new ideas to traditional dance forms, and has produced several shows in San Francisco. Her flow between contemporary modern dance, flamenco and Middle-eastern styles makes her a unique choreographer. Shaw has spent years training Bay Area dancers in technique and improvisation, challenging them to dance from a deeper level and uncover their unique style.

Leave a Reply

